The Jesus Diet


Stocking Up
April 26, 2010, 1:57 am
Filed under: Information, Uncategorized | Tags: ,

One of the first things that should be done when beginning to eat clean is figuring out what’s in your cabinets.  How much do you need to improve?  The best way to do that is to read labels.  Every label.  It’s amazing how much crap can be hidden in one can of fruit.  Basically in our home we keep fresh, frozen, and MAYBE a few cans.

The reason I don’t keep many cans is because the lining of many cans contain BPA, a substance that is banned in infant products around the world.  Not only are cans themselves questionable, but the food inside cans, even fruits and vegetables, are often packed in sugars, juices, or oils.  It is far more healthful to eat frozen fruits and veggies, which are typically flash-frozen almost immediately after being picked; therefore they retain far more nutrients than canned or even some of the “fresh” produce in grocery stores.

I thought I’d give you a peek into my pantry; mainly because when I read food blogs or magazines I always wonder what these people keep on hand.  

We do our very best to eat clean while on a budget.  I’ve found that this is cheaper than buying prepared meals.   In my cabinets I keep spices/herbs, sweeteners, dried fruits/nuts, and my lone box of organic mac and cheese for those days the boys REALLY want it.   I keep the extra oils and vinegars in my bottom cabinets that are not pictured..

In my pantry I keep my grains, beans, pasta, fresh fruit, and veggies (the basket has onions, potatoes, and garlic).

I’m leaving you with one job.. just read your labels.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

