The Jesus Diet


My Food Story
April 23, 2010, 3:06 am
Filed under: Information | Tags: ,

One thing that I think is important to know about me is that I haven’t always been “into healthy food”.  When I met my husband in the fall of 2005 my culinary skills were limited to knowing how to make Kraft macaroni and cheese.  I could also heat up noodles to pour Prego over, but I usually overcooked them and needed instructions from my dad to brown the ground beef to add in.  That was my “great spaghetti recipe”.  I could also mix up a mean batch of just-add-water pancake batter, though I usually burned the first several pancakes.

It wasn’t just cooking that was an issue.  I was cognitively aware that I should eat healthy food, however I just had zero desire.  I had issues with my body (what teenage girl doesn’t in our society?), however they had progressed to the point where I had battled an eating disorder off and on since I was 16.

Over the next few years I slowly began learning how to cook meals.  My husband taught me quite a bit.  However, it wasn’t until March of 2009 when my second son, Owen, was in the NICU after being born at 28 weeks that I read the book The Great Physician’s RX for Women.  I knew that my body wasn’t what it should be; I weighed close to 200lbs, which on a frame of 5’4″ is far too much.  I didn’t know quite what to do because my history with food disorders made even simple diets too easy for me to starve myself.  It was always a challenge to see how little I could get by with and still be “okay”.

The book, along with a lot of prayer and support from my husband, helped me to realize that God made me who I am, and all I needed to do was treat my body as the gift that it is and fill it with nourishing, healthy foods that He provided.  Well, After following that guideline and learning more and more through blogs, books, and other research I weigh 137lbs.  I’m still moving downward on the scale and I have never “dieted”.  I just eat healthy, wholesome food whenever I’m hungry and stop when I’m full.  Makes sense, right?  I believe that’s what it’s all about!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

